MedSolutionan operating division of Medical Tourism Inc.

Currency Exchange

Currency Exchange The Indian Rupee is divided into 100 units called paise. There are coins of 25 and 50 paise and Rupee notes come in 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, and 500. You are not allowed to bring Indian currency into India, nor leave with it.

If you wish to exchange traveler's cheques or bills of other currency into Indian currency, you should do so through authorized banks. These banks will issue encashment certificates required at the time of re-conversion of any unspent money. Please note that if you are carrying more than $2500 US cash, you must declare it upon arrival.

Diners' Club, MasterCard, American Express, and Visa are the credit cards widely accepted in major stores. Shops, banks, and post offices generally open at 10am. Banks close at 2pm, post offices at 5pm, and shops at 7pm. Government offices open 10am - 6pm Monday-Friday.


Currency Converter

Determine the conversion of any currency to Indian Rupees with this online currency converter.


Some banking and financial Institutions approved by the Government of India


Back to Top

Patient Inquiry Form